A Vision for Europe

ISBN: 978-1912475-16-2 

£19.99 → PRE-ORDER

An international all-star cast of thinkers, artists, and policy makers joins forces for a transparent, united, democratic Europe.
The European Union was an exceptional achievement. It brought together and in peace peoples speaking different languages and submersed in different cultures, proving that it was possible to create a shared framework of human rights across a continent that was not long ago tormented by murderous chauvinism, racism, and barbarity. It could have been the proverbial Beacon on the Hill, showing the world how peace and solidarity may be snatched from the jaws of age-old conflict and bigotry.

But things turned out differently. Today, a common bureaucracy and a common currency divide Europeans who were beginning to unite despite their different languages and cultures. A confederacy of myopic politicians, economically naïve officials, and financially incompetent ‘experts’ submit slavishly to the edicts of financial and industrial conglomerates, alienating people and stirring up a dangerous anti-European backlash. Proud peoples are being turned against each other. Nationalism, extremism and racism are being re-awakened.

With contributions from some of the world’s foremost thinkers, artists and politicians covering the full spectrum of concerns for the future of the Union, this volume presents realistic and viable alternatives to the mainstream barrage of dreadful prospects - a true vision for Europe. 
Writing in A Vision for Europe
David Adler, Renata Avila, Rosemary Bechler, Francesca Bria, Noam Chomsky, John Christensen, John Cusack, Brian Eno, Daniel Erlacher, James Galbraith, Ksenia Gerasimova, Bobby Gillespie, Olivier Hoedeman, Srecko Horvat, Sam Hufton, Tim Jackson, Katrín Jakobsdóttir, Leila Jancovich, Naomi Klein, Paul Laverty, Ken Loach, Miltos Manetas, Lorenzo Marsili, Raoul Martinez, Mariana Mazzucato, David McWilliams, Niccolo Milanese, Vlassis Missos, Preethi Nallu, Rasmus Nordqvist, Xristina Penna, Ann Pettifor, Gerardo Pisarello, Jaromil Roio, Bertie Russell, Jeffrey Sachs, Saskia Sassen, Elif Shafak, Nicholas Shaxson, Jonas Staal, Lyndsey Stonebridge, Danae Stratou, Yanis Varoufakis, Eyal Weizman, and Slavoj Žižek.
In collaboration with:

An imprint of Urtext